June Photo Challenge-Day 1

Today is the first day of June, which to me, is the unofficial, official start of summer.

Today also kicks off my newest photography challenge. The challenge today was for me to capture a Hidden Talent. Well, my go-to hidden talent would be tough to photograph.  I am great at a one-handed clap.  I can clap with one hand, with each hand!

Instead, I chose this.

IMG_1473

I can cook.  I hate to cook. I don’t really enjoy cooking.  But, I am kinda good at it.  I have to be.  It runs deep in my genes.  Every woman on my mother’s side of the family are amazing cooks.  And they enjoy cooking.  My mother is exceptional, my grandmother is an Italian, homemade marvel, both of my sisters are fantastic at cooking, so I think it rubs off on me.  I just really don’t have a love for it.

Tonight, I (helped) cook Buffalo Mac-n-Cheese with Crispy Chicken.  (Do you see my Brinkley peeking over my shoulder?)  This is an adapted crockpot recipe that my brother in law, Jeff, makes.  He changed it up today to make crispy chicken and I learned a new technique.  (I guess you call it a technique?)  I learned how to make the crispy chicken with panko bread crumbs, as well as the buffalo mac-n-cheese.  The “recipe” is below.

Here are some more pics of my hidden talent.

Breading the chicken is messy.  My lovely niece is helping me.

IMG_1464  IMG_1465

Jeff, need a utensil?
IMG_1466

IMG_1467
That chicken was so good.  Perfectly crispy, tender, and juicy!

IMG_1470

Voila!

IMG_1472

(Cue the acceptance speech music)

I want to thank my family, who has always believed in me.  I want to thank Jeff, my BIL, who was so patient, helpful and knowledgeable, and lastly, my photographer and sister, Suzy.   She has a great teaching blog, check it out!

On deck for tomorrow’s June Photo Challenge is: something I am looking forward to. 

Cheersies!

Jess

 

Buffalo Chicken Mac-n-Cheese

1lb of Chicken- trimmed and cut in strips

Panko Bread Crumbs

1 cup of flour

3 eggs

Salt

Pepper

Rotini-or noodle of your choice

1 cup cheddar chesse (or cheese mixture of your choice)

Sauce:

3 cups milk

1/2 cup heavy cream

1/2 cup grated/shredded Parmesan cheese

Hot sauce

 

1. Prepare 4 plates.  1. flour 2. eggs-beat 3. panko bread crumbs 4. empty plate for chicken after being coated.

2. Coat chicken strips in a thin layer of flour, then dip in eggs, then pounded and coated in the Panko bread crumbs.  Place on empty plate.

3. Heat vegetable oil in pan on medium heat.  Place coated chicken in pan to cook until golden brown on both sides.

4. Mix all ingredients for the sauce in a sauce pan on medium heat.  Careful not to scorch the milk.  When it comes to a small boil, reduce heat.

5. Cook noodles to time noted on box.

6. When all chicken is cooked, and noodles are cooked and drained, combine half the noodles in a large bowl.  Add half the sauce mixture, and 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese.  Mix well.  Add the remaining half of the noodles and sauce mixture.  Add the remaining 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese.  Serve with crispy chicken.

Enjoy!

*Note- this is not exact as I am not a professional cook, nor will I ever claim to be!  You’ve been warned!

Leave a comment